Citizen of the Year Logo

Nominations for the Community Citizen of the Year Awards for Australia Day 2018 will open 1 September 2017 and close on 31 October 2017.

For further information visit


The Australia Day Active Citizenship Awards program has been delivered in partnership with Western Australian Local Government organisations for more than 15 years.  The program has evolved into one of the key activities and draw-cards for Local Governments at their annual Australia Day Citizenship celebrations.

The Community Citizen of the Year Awards Program was relauched in 2017 to coincide with Australia Day WA's 40th Anniversary.  Improvements to the awards program included the addition of a 'Seniors' award category, a dedicated website with a streamlined online nomination facility and the inclusion of our Patron, Her Excellency the Governor of Western Australia as signatory on the award certificates – a huge honour and special acknowledgement for those community members recognised by their local council in each of the categories.

The criteria for the awards remains consistant with previous years and allows you to recognise a wider range of your community champions through the four categories:

  • Citizen of the Year

  • Senior Citizen of the Year (over 65 years of age)

  • Youth Citizen of the Year (under 25 years of age)

  • Active Citizenship Award (to recognise a community group or event)

To register your council's interest in participating in the awards for Australia Day 2018 please contact us on 9325-9988.


Australia Day WA, through all of its Awards Programs, is keen to recognise those displaying the ideals of social justice, cultural diversity and acknowledging the importance that the  reconciliation process plays in enabling people to feel valued and contribute more positively to society.